Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna lose Australian Open mixed doubles title

Rate this post

In Sania Mirza’s last match in Grand Slam competition before her retirement, the Brazilian team of Luisa Stefani and Rafael Matos defeated her along with Rohan Bopanna 7-6(2), 6-2 on January 27 to win the Australian Open mixed doubles title. .

sania will retire in February after a competition in Dubai. She has won six Grand Slam doubles titles, including the 2009 Australian Open and three mixed.

In the tiebreaker, the Brazilian team led 3-0 before Mirza and Bopanna battled to level the score at 3-2, but it would be their last point. They failed to land two consecutive spikes, including Mirza’s attempt into the net on set point.

In the fourth game of the second set, Stefani and Matos broke Mirza’s serve to take a 3-1 lead. The breaking point came after a lengthy exchange between the teams. With seven wins in the United Cup and at Melbourne Park, Stefani and Matos are unbeaten as a team.

Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna advanced to the mixed doubles final of the Australian Open on January 24, giving her a chance to capture her seventh major championship. In the quarterfinal that lasted one hour and 52 minutes, the unseeded Indian pair defeated third seeds Desirae Krawczyk and Neal Skupski 7-6(5) 6-7(5) 10-6.

“I’m not a crybaby but I’m almost there, I feel the love from the last 18 years that I come here. It feels like home to me, I have a family here, like home and I have so many Indians supporting me,” Sania previously said.

Sania has won six Grand Slam tournaments, three of which were mixed doubles with India’s Mahesh Bhupathi (2009 Australian Open, 2012 French Open) and Brazil’s Bruno Soares (2014 US Open).

All three women’s doubles championships (2015 Wimbledon, 2015 US Open and 2016 Australian Open) were won by tennis legend Martina Hingis.

Leave a Comment